New home, new life

backhome

 

It’s now been two weeks of boxes, paint, decorations, office organization (post coming soon!) and of course school. And it’s still going to be the same for the next couple of weeks I believe. It’s really a matter of just settling in at this point and organizing some time.

A lot of people have asked me “How does it feel to be back?” I’m still working on that answer, but here’s what I’ve been going through in the past two weeks.

My anxiety is totally under control which is great. That’s a huge relief. I’ve gotten to see a few friends and have been able to catch up which is even better! I’ve missed a lot, but it’s always nice to know that friendships are still there and thriving. It would be foolish of me to expect that nothing changed while I was gone, but let’s face it, no one is the same, not even me. One thing is for sure, I have more respect for myself now than I did a few years ago.

When it comes to being in school, on the first day, while I was in class I had this overwhelming feeling of “Yep, this is where I need to be.” It really was a huge relief and satisfying to know that all my hard work and determination and stress was worth it. Well, so far at least, my work is only starting…

As far as doing the whole long distance relationship thing, it hasn’t really hit me yet. Last week M surprised me by driving down a day early! (Yay!) and we got to spend an extra day together. So by then it had almost been a regular week for us (we used to mainly see each other on the weekends) so that wasn’t too bad. What’s going to start hitting me shortly though is the fact that I won’t be seeing him until Thanksgiving. (For Canada it’s in October) Which is still quite a while away. It’s almost as if I don’t want to stop working and studying and that I must keep myself busy. I just know that when I stop I’ll probably come to the hard realization that we’re 500 kms apart and we have to carefully plan our trips to see each other and what not. It really isn’t a fun thing to think about. Nonetheless, we’re keeping at it and are making it; cause it’ll be worth while in the end 🙂 [Gotta keep those positive thoughts!]

Other than that, I’m still really getting used to the life as a student again.

Have any of you been going through a change lately? Feel free to let us know by commenting below or emailing us at lipsticklabels@gmail.com

Cheers!

-D

Leave a Reply

