One of those days…

16e6d9be18a888695f0c1089e105648f

I’m sure everyone has heard the exceptionally vague expression: “It’s one of those days…”

To be honest, there really isn’t one specific definition that anybody can give it, but there are always common themes or words that can be attached to it. For example – gloomy, lousy, lazy, sad, grey (or blue) – in all cases, it’s not exactly a positive expression.

For me, today was one of those days. And I’d thought I’d share with you what I tend to do about it.

I let them happen. It’s pretty much inevitable. I know that a lot of people will disagree with me and tell me that it’s my choice and I can make my day much brighter and I can turn my frown upside down. Of course I can, but honestly, I don’t want to right now. I came up with this idea that eventually became some sort of habit afterwards (not that this happens often, but you know what I mean…). Whenever I feel like this [trust me, you know it from the time you wake up] I give myself that one day to feel as miserable as I possibly can.

81d09d56a213f3f30bd663e6208f7272

Let me explain.  I sit myself in front of my tv or I grab a book and just read with a blanket and some tea. I take a hot shower and pretty much disconnect my phone. I don’t like to speak to anyone during those days cause I just know that I won’t feel the way I really want to if someone is asking me a favour, or telling me a happy story. I don’t want to ruin someone else’s day because I’m not feeling well. During that time my mind goes on a wild rampage and I think of a million things, because well, I’m just sitting there, with my thoughts, by my lonesome.

1d654561b4f60c639d514ca03fdfc72b

I deal with whatever I’m dealing with and that’s that. I may feel like I have a cloud over my head, but at least I’m in the comfort of my own home. In other words, I hide out. But here’s the thing. It’s only a 24 hour thing. During that day I make sure that I prep myself mentally and give myself a boost and remind myself of the bigger picture and that tomorrow is a new day and a fresh start.

Guess what? It works. Every single time.

Sometimes all it takes is to give yourself the time to process the emotions you’re going through.

b116ab64d34c83afc91a98a04024a7a5

I’d love to know what you guys do when you have “one of those days…”

-D

Leave a Reply

