Relationships are hard

Relationships are hard.

Yeah, that was pretty much the understatement of the century. And the thing is, this applies to any kind of relationship, be it with family, friends, a significant other, in your workplace and even the relationship with yourself. I think that one is the hardest of them all. So many of us just instantly think that our relationships are really based on what’s out there and don’t really take a second to look at how you treat yourself on a deeper personal level.

I mean sure, we “treat” ourselves to a trip, to eat out, to sleep in, to relax in front of the television, to read a good book while having a glass of wine in front of the fireplace on a snowy Sunday afternoon (darn that sounds good.) But do we ever really take the time we need to contemplate on how we respect, love and care for ourselves? Not often. At least not on my end.

I’m in a LDR (long distance relationship) at the moment, I have a great web of friends that I try to see when I’m not wrapped in school work, and I have a family that I would not trade for the entire world. But my relationship with myself has been a struggling one for a while and still is to this day. Not to say that I don’t have any self confidence or anything of that matter, but I do feel like I have loads of work left to do with myself until I reach the level at which I would like to be. I feel like I need to be able to communicate with myself a bit better especially in terms of saying to myself “enough is enough”, “you’re making the right decision” and most importantly, just listening to my own instinct.

I’ve just recently been trying to figure out a compromise to a situation that I truly don’t know if a compromise should even be something to think about.  And my struggle here, I won’t hide it, is letting go of what I think could happen, and just focusing on what should happen and how to make it happen.

So here’s my plan to respect, listen and just work on myself: I will try my absolute best to take an hour of my day to sit, meditate and write about all that I know, and all that I want to learn. I will take my time when making hard decisions and not always let my heart win over reason and logic and I will try to follow my gut. (It’s usually always right.)  I will trust. I will trust that everything will turn out as it was planned, that all is perfectly aligned with the story I am meant to live.

It’s always easier said than done, but I am promising my self, right here, right now, with all of you to witness, that I will try to have the best relationship EVER…with myself. So from here on out, GOOD VIBES ONLY.

-D

Leave a Reply

