2015 Reading Challenge

reading challenge 2015

So POPSUGAR came out with a reading challenge list at the beginning of the year and since it’s summer now (for me at least), I decided I’d give it a try since I have more free time on my hands.

Now, if you’ve already checked out the link, you might have realized that there aren’t any “rules” indicated with the checklist and how to use it, so here’s what I’m doing: Since the challenge started in January, I decided that the books I have read since then would count as well. (There aren’t many, so I don’t see it as a problem.) Also, I will be reading a different book for each entry.  I will list below my reading list and post a picture, a synopsis and my rating when I am done with that specific entry.

So without further ado, here’s the Reading Challenge list for 2015 and my book choices.

A book with more than 500 pages – Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern (done)

This book has so much more depth and twists and turns than the movie. Which is normal I suppose, but I definitely did love the trial and errors of Rosie, who is really just trying to live her life the best way that she can. I laughed, cried and swore at and with Rosie during her challenged lifetime. Great novel.

 A classic romance – Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

A book that became a movie – Paper Towns by John Green

A book that was published this year – I was here by Gail Forman

A book with a number in the title – 1984 by George Orwell 

A book written by someone under 30 – Looking for Alaska by John Green (done)

I finished this book in 24 hours. No joke. Not only does it captivate you at every page, but John Green is excellent at portraying life itself in a new way, or maybe a way that gets you thinking. Love love love!

A book with non-human characters – Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood (done)

* Just finished this book and I borrowed it from the library just yeesterday! It was a great light read set in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s with Witches as the non-human characters. This book is part of a Trilogy, although I didn’t know that when I rented it, but it’s quite good. I’ve already put a hold on the second one!

A funny book – Me talk pretty one day by David Sedaris

I can’t say I enjoyed this book. And to be honest, there’s a simple reason. I couldn’t relate to the author’s life in essays in any way. But, I will admit that the writing is well done.

A book with a female author – Star Cursed by Jessica Spotswood (done)

* Finished the second book of the Cahill Witches Chronicle – It’s pretty good and definitely ends with a bang I did not foresee and with loads of betrayal.*

A mystery or a thriller – Invisible by James Patterson and David Ellis

A book with a one word title – Room by Emma Donoghue

A book of short stories – The adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

A book set in a different country – The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

A non-fiction book – Very good lives by J.K Rowling

A popular author’s first book – Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

A book by an author you love but haven’t read – The Cuckoo’s calling by Robert Gailbraith aka J.K. Rowling

A book recommended by a friend – Weird Sisters by Eleanor (done)

I will admit that it was pretty good. I anticipated a different outcome, but all in all, it was a good book in which you can really just relate in whatever screwed up moments you’ve had, whether it be with Rose, Bean or Cordy.

A book based on a true story – Wild by Cheryl Strayed

A Pulitzer-Prize winning book – A visit from the goon squad by Jennifer Egan

A book that’s on my bottom of to-read list – The Underside of Joy by Seré Prince Halverson

A book my mom loves –

A book that scares me – 12 years a slave by Solomon Northup

A book that’s more than 100 years old – A tale of two cities by Charles Dickens 

A book chosen based on it’s cover – The Uprising by Lisa M. Stasse

And this ladies and gents, is why you don’t choose a book based on it’s cover. The idea behind the book is alright, they’re fighting a futuristic land and want to take over the head of the state to save innocent lives. Rings any bells? This type of story has been tried and done and beautifully written…elsewhere. I could not stand the author’s writing pattern by the end of the novel. And this is also a trilogy, to which I refuse to read the others. Every five words, sometimes less, there’s a period. It’s a pause that doesn’t need to be there. And every few sentences it’s about a romance that should not be included in moments such as running away from the bad guy. All in all, I give this book a 2 out of 5 stars.

A memoir – Not that kind of girl by Lena Dunham 

A book I was suppose to read in high school – The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain 

A book I can finish in a day – The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde 

A book with antonyms in the title – Me before you by Jojo Moyes 

A book set somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit – Where she went by Gayle Forman (done)

*So for those of you who don’t know, Where She Went is the sequel to If I Stay, but this time Gayle Forman introduces the story of Adam three years later in New York City (place I’ve always wanted to visit). I found it a great easy read with a captivating story of love found and lost. *

A book that came out the year I was born –

A book with bad reviews – Where the Wild things are by Maurice Sendak 

A trilogy – Delirium by Lauren Oliver

A book set in the future – The demon trapper’s daughter by Jana Oliver (done) 

A book with magic – The Witch’s daughter by Paula Brackston

A graphic novel – Anya’s ghost by Vera Brosgol 

A book that made me cry – Sisters’ Fate by Jessica Spotswood (done)

* I read the last book of the Cahill Witches Chronicles yesterday. A whole series in a week, I haven’t done that since the Hunger Games, but hey, when you’re wrapped up, you just don’t want to put anything down. The ending is what really moved me to tears with this one. It’s definitely not the ending I was expecting, but an ending that fits the story quite well. I just wish there was more. *

A book with a color in the title – The Scarlett letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne 

A book set in high school – Just listen by Sarah Dessen 

A book from my childhood – Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss 

A book with a love triangle – Matched by Ally Condie

A book from an author I’ve never read before – The Walled City by Ryan Graudin 

A book originally in a different language – Anna Karenina 

A play – Hamlet by Shakespeare 

A book that’s been banned somewhere – Brave new world by Aldous Huxley 

A book I started but haven’t finished – The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

* Finished this one this past weekend, it wasn’t bad, although it took me weeks to finish it because I wasn’t so much into it. I did like the quirkiness of Don, reminded me of Dr.Cooper of the Big Bang Theory.

A book that became a TV show – Sex and the City by Candice Bunshell 

Leave a Reply

