Dom’s Night time Routine

Dom's Night time Routine
Everyone’s got something that they do without fail everyday right? That thing for me is a routine that I started this year and let me tell you it has changed me. I feel refreshed when I wake up in the morning and I feel energized. Depending on the work schedule I have, (I either start work at 7 am, 8 am or 10 am) I’ll try to go to bed at a minimum of 8 hours before my alarm is set to go off, which is normally around 9:45 pm, 10:45 pm or 12 am depending on the shift. Here’s what I do before bed to make sure I sleep soundly and don’t have a crazy morning rush the next day.
Shower and face wash
I take my shower  before I go to bed so that my hair has time to dry and that we aren’t 3 struggling with time in the morning to all shower and get out the house on our way to work without being late.
PJs
Once my shower is done, it’s not-matching-comfortable-as-hell pyjama time. My socks don’t match, so I sure as well will not match my pjs. Once they’re on, this is a definite I’m-not-going-anywhere statement. (Unless it’s an emergency, in which case, I’ll probably end up going to said emergency in pyjamas.)
TV shows and stretches 
I love to catch up on my tv shows that I’ve missed during the week because of various activities. But instead of sitting on the couch, I’ll pull out my yoga mat and do my daily stretches. A good way to exercise while being entertained.
Brushing Teeth
Before I get comfortable in bed when it’s close to lights out. This is a pretty self-describing task.
FaceTime 
I’m in a LDR. So that means that while I’m not in Toronto or he’s not in Ottawa, we’re talking via Skype or FaceTime. (Mostly FaceTime) We try our best to take at least 30 minutes to talk about our day and what we have planned for the next.
Reading 
I’ve read somewhere that it’s recommended that you turn off all electronics or avoid electronics for a minimum of 20 minutes before trying to sleep. In my case, I try to power down at least 30 minutes prior, so I grab my current read and go through a few chapters. Once I feel myself dozing off, I know to turn off the lights.
What do you guys do for your nightly routine? Feel free to leave a comment or email us at lipsticklabels@gmail.com
Here’s the list of items:

Nivea face wash
13 CAD – nelly.com

Beauty product
22 CAD – amazon.com

Uniqlo cotton shirt
25 CAD – uniqlo.com

Grey Space Dye Jogger Pyjamas
25 CAD – newlook.com

Dot Bo nautical shower curtain
86 CAD – dotandbo.com

Philips Sonicare Kids Toothbrush
86 CAD – gracioushome.com

Chronicle Books star home decor
18 CAD – nordstrom.com

Dot & Bo Geometrics Yoga Mat
110 CAD – dotandbo.com

Leave a Reply

